Public Domain - Public Domain

While freely distributed software existed before the 16 bit era, it was the Atari ST, Amiga and PC where public domain software thrived. One popular way for distributing freeware and shareware before the Internet were public domain series. Some series on the Atari ST even lasted for more than 1000 disks!

AtariUpToDate had references to public domain disks for a long time, but now you can browse the disks by series and disk number. As long as a program is linked to the database you can read the individual program description. A random image is selected for each disk as well. The current selection of public domain series is just a start - the Floppyshop, FaST Club and Budgie series will follow. Unfortunately, many international public domain series haven’t been archived.

While not the biggest library, ST-Computer PD was the most popular in Germany and a source of various other public domain series. Most public domain series were in fact distributed and advertised by Atari ST magazines. Exceptions are 4U and PD Pool which were curated by Atari dealers.

The golden age of public domain series came to an end in 1993/94 when various magazines ceased publication, the ST declined in popularity and the first shareware cd-roms offered thousands of programs for the price of five floppy disks. Finally the Internet offered access to the most up-to-date programs immediately instead of relying on a series of physical disks.


Standard support
GEMScript
OLGA
BubbleGEM
Programs written in...
Assembler
GFA-Basic
Puree C

Public Domain - Public Domain

Während frei verbreitete Software bereits vor der 16-Bit-Ära existierte, war es der Atari ST, Amiga und PC, auf dem Public-Domain-Software gedieh. Eine beliebte Art der Verbreitung von Freeware und Shareware vor dem Internet waren Public-Domain-Serien. Einige Serien auf dem Atari ST erstreckten sich sogar über mehr als 1000 Disketten!

AtariUpToDate hatte lange Zeit Verweise auf Public-Domain-Datenträger, aber jetzt können Sie die Datenträger nach Serien und Datenträgernummer durchsuchen. Solange ein Programm mit der Datenbank verknüpft ist, können Sie die individuelle Programmbeschreibung lesen. Auch für jede Diskette wird ein zufälliges Image ausgewählt. Die aktuelle Auswahl an Public-Domain-Serien ist nur ein Anfang - die Serien Floppyshop, FaST Club und Budgie werden folgen. Leider sind viele internationale Public-Domain-Serien nicht archiviert worden.

Die ST-Computer PD war zwar nicht die größte Bibliothek, aber die beliebteste in Deutschland und eine Quelle für verschiedene andere Public-Domain-Reihen. Die meisten Public Domain-Serien wurden in der Tat von Atari ST-Magazinen vertrieben und beworben. Ausnahmen sind 4U und PD-Pool, die von Atari-Händlern kuratiert wurden.

Das goldene Zeitalter der Public-Domain-Serien ging 1993/94 zu Ende, als verschiedene Zeitschriften ihre Veröffentlichung einstellten, der ST an Popularität verlor und die ersten Shareware-CD-ROMs Tausende von Programmen zum Preis von fünf Disketten anboten. Schließlich bot das Internet sofort Zugang zu den aktuellsten Programmen, anstatt sich auf eine Serie von physischen Disketten zu verlassen.


Standard-Unterstützung
GEMScript
OLGA
BubbleGEM
Programme geschrieben in...
Assembler
GFA-Basic
Puree C